A New Year????

“Resolutions” – why do people have these when we all know that they won’t be lasting longer than a month or two? Is this some quick fix way to make the rest of our lives as acceptable as possible?

We rely on these resolutions to help us fix unwanted aspects of our lives. Smoking, dieting, exercising, or even a number of personal things.

Instead of making resolutions we should be making real changes. One of my changes was to be better at keeping in touch with people especially those I lose touch with for years at a time. I wrote my first letter in a long time and am sending it tomorrow in the mail. Starting with something so simple like writing one person a letter at a time is one way I am increasing my communication skills while undertaking my goal. Even if the person does not respond, I have tried and can then proceed to contact another person and another.

Small steps are needed to achieve our goals, big grand gestures normally fall short and use up a lot of energy. Writing this blog for myself and reminding myself to stay positive are two more things I am working on changing. Key words here are “working on”. I am not stating I will be a better person this year I am stating that I am working on becoming better. Changes take time and ease us into new ideas.

My mantra for 2015 : stay positive and keep moving forward!
Lets make changes we can actually achieve and together we will strive to be better.

Leave a Reply

